fbpx
  • 29 Apr
  • 2 min read
jazz-playlist

In 2011, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization declared the celebration of International Jazz Day “to highlight jazz and its diplomatic role of uniting people in all corners of the globe.” Celebrated annually on April 30, the idea originally came from UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador and jazz pianist Herbie Hancock.

For more than a century, jazz has helped soothe and enliven the souls of millions from corners of the globe. Thus, Jazz Day is celebrated with pomp across the world. The International Jazz Day 2019 ‘All-Star Global Concert’ is all set to take place in Melbourne, Australia.

For all those who fear missing out, fret no more. The concert will be webcast for free on jazzday.com, unesco.org, YouTube and Facebook at 15:00 UTC on Tuesday, April 30 (11:00 New York | 16:00 London | 17:00 Paris | 00:00 Tokyo (May 1) | 01:00 Melbourne (May 1))

Therefore here is a GrooveNexus selection of the jazz day playlist with the best of jazz tracks, from old school to modern classics. Enjoy the playlist!

Take Five – Dave Brubeck

So What – Miles Davis

Take the A Train – Duke Ellington

Round Midnight – Thelonious Monk

Blue Train – John Coltrane

Watermelon Man – Herbie Hancock

Moanin’ – Art Blakey and The Jazz Messengers

Rhapsody in Blue – George Gershwin

April in Paris – Count Basie

Autumn Leaves – Cannonball Adderley

Hope you liked our contribution towards your escalated love for jazz with this specially curated jazz day playlist. If we are missing out on any track that you would like to incorporate, let us know in the comments below.

Here’s celebrating the intangible musical heritage of freedom with a message of unified energy and emotion through culture and music.

A very happy ‘International Jazz Day‘ to all you jazz lovers. May jazz fill your life with more happiness with each passing day.

For more such musically brewed content, keep hooked on to GrooveNexus. We love to keep you grooving to the tunes of what GrooveNexus selects.

Rate the Article 1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars loader-imageLoading...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *