Big Thief Announces New Album ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You’

Big Thief Announces New Album ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You’

Big Thief will release their new album ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You’, share ‘Time Escaping’.   

In recent months, Big Thief have been teasing a new album with an exhilarating collection of singles. Back in early October, the band’s vocalist, Adrianne Lenker, teased that they were readying a 20-track double-LP, which we now know is Dragon New Warm Mountain. Sessions took place in four separate locations — Upstate New York, Topanga Canyon, the Rocky Mountains, and in Tucson, Arizona — over the course of five months, resulting in 45 completed tracks. Drummer James Krivchenia led the charge on the whole recording concept and produced the LP. 

Each studio location lent itself to a different style of music: The NY sessions were filled with “intuitive recording rituals” that led to previously released tracks “Sparrow “and “Certainty “while Big Thief explored “their bombastic desires” in California, resulting in previous single “Little Things “and the new “Time Escaping.”  

Then in the Colorado Rockies, they returned to their roots by working with engineer Dom Monks (who handled the band’s UFOF and Two Hands), leading to tracks like “Change.” Finally, in Arizona, they welcomed Mat Davidson of Twain to join in on vocals and fiddle, the first time they’d ever recorded with a fifth instrumentalist.  

Over ping-ponging, zig-zagging acoustic and electric guitar lines and a hypnotic rhythm, Lenker puts in a captivating vocal performance, highlighted by one of the best choruses she’s ever written. After a total of five months recording at the various locales, Big Thief came out of the sessions with a whopping 45 completed songs, which were whittled down to a mere 20 for the final album. 

The final album is set for February 11, 2022, release via 4AD. You can check out the album’s cover art and full track online. 

Rate this post