BTS named winners of IFPI Global Recording Artist of the Year Award 

International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) has announced the South Korean pop band BTS as the winners of the 2021 IFPI Global Recording Artist of the Year Award. The South Korean group becomes the first band to win the award for two consecutive years. 

BTS, a South Korean boy band formed in 2010, made its debut in 2013. The K-pop band is also known as Bangton Boys, with Jin, Suga, J-Hope, RM, Jimin, V, and Jungkook forming the group. 

Frances Moore, Chief Executive, IFPI, said: “BTS’ phenomenal success over the last year is a testament to their creativity, hard work and ongoing commitment to continuing to find ways to bring their music to the world. By performing in three different languages, they demonstrate their extraordinarily unique global appeal and their dynamic and passionate fanbase has helped to make them the first artists in history to top the Global Artist Chart in two consecutive years. 

“We would like to wish RM, Jin, SUGA, j-hope, Jimin, V and Jung Kook and all who work on their team huge congratulations on winning the Global Recording Artist of the Year Award and on another year of brilliant success.” 

BTS band gained popularity in 2018 when it entered IFPI Global Artist Chart at number 2, while in 2020, BTS became the first Korean band to win the award. 

BTS continued its dominance in 2021, releasing Butter in May last year. For seven consecutive weeks, the single became an instant hit and topped the US Billboard Hot 100 Chart. Later in July 2021, the K-pop band’s new song Permission to Dance replaced Butted as the No.1 song on Hot 100. BTS also collaborate with Coldplay to release My Universe, making it another top song in the US. 

Meanwhile, two-time winner Taylor Swift was ranked No.2 in the IFPI report, and fellow K-pop band Seventeen entered at the ninth spot. 

Here’s the list of the top 10 artists of 2021 as per the IFPI report: 

1. BTS 

2. Taylor Swift 

3. Adele 

4. Drake 

5. Ed Sheeran 

6. The Weeknd 

7. Billie Eilish 

8. Justin Bieber 

9. Seventeen 

10. Olivia Rodrigo 

Rate this post